A crime is labeled domestic violence (DV) if the complaining witness is related to the person accused. The relationship can be based on a current or past romantic relationship, a common child or residence, or any blood or marriage familial tie. The most common domestic violence Tacoma charges include assault, malicious mischief or destruction of property, interfering with a 911 call, violation of a domestic violence protection order or no contact order, harassment and reckless endangerment.
Theft charges can range from the misdemeanor level to the felony level. Typically, theft charges stem from stolen merchandise, but can include theft of personal property as well. If the items are valued at under $750, the charge would amount to a misdemeanor. If over $750, a felony charge would typically apply. For certain theft charges, a person may be eligible for a resolution called a “compromise of misdemeanor” which results in payment of restitution and dismissal of the charges. An experienced theft attorney can work with prosecutors and involved parties in order to secure this type of resolution for a client charged with theft.
Because these allegations are usually based on one persons account of an incident there is often very little physical evidence to support the charge. The charges often arise from a heated moment and can be exaggerated or even fabricated. Calling into question the accuracy of the “victim’s” statement is one of primary ways to combat charges of domestic violence. An experienced Tacoma Domestic Violence lawyer can make all of the difference. The Attorney’s at Horwath Law routinely obtains dismissals on domestic violence charges.
A person can be charged with malicious mischief if there is an allegation of intentional property damage. This could include broken property or defacement of property, such as graffiti. Malicious mischief can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the amount of damage caused. Penalties for this type of crime could include jail time, house arrest, a fine, probation, community service and/or restitution. You need a good malicious mischief defense attorney to navigate these muddy waters.
If a person creates, falsifies or alters a written instrument (like a check, will, certificate, license, passport etc.), he or she could be charged with forgery, a Class C Felony in Washington State. The maximum penalty for forgery is 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine. An experienced forgery lawyer in Seattle/Tacoma can complete a thorough investigation of the allegations and secure a desirable resolution.
Burglary includes residential burglary as well as breaking and entering into any other type of property. If a deadly weapon is used or someone is assaulted during the burglary, enhanced penalties apply. A qualified burglary attorney can work to get the charges dropped or significantly reduced to a less serious offense, such as trespass.
The crime of robbery occurs when a person takes the property of another by using force. If armed with a deadly weapon at the time, the charge becomes a Class A felony which has a potential for life imprisonment. Robbery is considered a “strike offense”
and is subject to Washington’s “Three Strikes” law. Competent and experienced representation is essential in defending yourself against this type of charge.
Horwath Law has experienced property crime attorneys whether you have been charged in Seattle, Sea-Tac, Renton, Kent, Auburn, Federal Way, Tacoma, Puyallup, Lakewood, Olympia, Yelm, Gig Harbor, Port Orchard, Bremerton, Silverdale, or most other Puget Sound locations.